I’m a Gamer

Sittin’ on my couch,

Snacking on my chips,

Staring at the screen til my eyes bleed.

Looking back and forth while I swirl my stick,

Hitting those buttons I repeatedly click,

And then, boom, I’m dead.

You got lucky, kid!

Then I respawn, like all the other pawns.

I’m gonna rush back – to take you out,

When I do, please don’t pout.

Because I’m a gamer,

That’s what I do.

I’m flying all around you.

Boom! Boom! Boom!

You don’ t stand a chance,

Don’t even bother making a stance,

Hide in that corner – with all your little buddies,

You’re looking all around,

Trying to stand your ground.

You think your little friends will keep you alive,

Then I burst in with a single stride,

Bang! you’re dead, once again.

Your controller hits the ground in a fit.

Rage Quit!

by Ghost Soldier

  •  The student blog challenge, week 4: assignment 3, was to find a picture online and write a poem relating to it. I did not care to do this assignment at first; poetry has never interested me, but since I was free to write it however I liked, it wound up being kind of fun to do, which is also why what I wrote above turned out to be more of a rap/poem. I thought about trying to find some music to put with it or make some of my own to add, but I am not a big rap fan, so that was a little harder to figure out and decided not to bother with it for the moment.

5 comments

  1. G’day Ghost Soldier,
    What an appropriate image for a gamer. Glad you persisted with writing the poem. They don’t always have to rhyme and have a set tempo or beat.

    Would be great if you could find or create your own music to go with the poem. Here is a website I recommend for making your own music – http://isleoftune.com/

    1. That’s cool. Glad you liked it. Poetry is not really my thing, but this this was kind of fun to do. Also,I checked out your blog, and you are doing a good job with it.

      Ghost

      1. Hi Ghost!

        Poetry to me is quite hard and i think you’re really good at it. Thanks for checking out my blog!

        Stay cool!
        Julianne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *